Lately I’ve been thinking about sharing more about myself on this blog. I don’t know if I want to stay like some sort of enigma that posts tiny poems a few times a week. Or if I want to share whats going. And I’ve been starting to feel a need to write these things down. I want to tell you guys about me falling on my face or meeting a guy I really like. But I guess I sell myself short, I tell myself no one will want to listen to that. But this is my blog. And I need to step questioning everything so goddamn much. Sorry for this strange diary entry-like post. Maybe I’ll delete it in a few hours. Maybe I’ll start a new blog to post this kind of stuff. Again sorry for this strange post.

5 thoughts on “

  1. The whole purpose of writing is to communicate, but we all get to choose what we want to communicate and, even in some cases, to whom. I started out just posting poems I liked of poets I admired, kind of an extension of my educator self. I also posted prose I wrote, including excerpts from my books. Then I found myself writing poetry again after many years and posting that. And then, I found myself at the point where you seem to be: whether I should start writing about my own life explicitly, rather than mask it in the prose and poetry. So I started with memoir type pieces and now will occasionally write about life as an expat in Turkey. I still mostly post poems of other poets, and then my own poetry, but I think those aren’t enough at times to get what’s in my head, and sometimes my heart, out. It was a little strange at first, writing those memoir pieces about things even many of my closest friends didn’t know. But it was a choice I made and am comfortable with. Therefore, my advice, for what it’s worth, is go with what your gut tells you to do. It’s your blog, and you control it. Write whatever you want. This is all about you.

    • I think I tend to feel stagnant after doing the same thing over. And I want to try new things, maybe try a memoir piece. I’m really glad you took the time to comment and hopefully it will help encourage me to push my writing, even if it is to a vulnerable place, because I guess in the end that is what makes good writing.

      • Yes, honesty makes good writing. There’s a Hemingway quote that applies: “A writer’s problem does not change. He himself changes and the world he lives in changes, but his problem remains the same. It is always how to write truly and, having found out what is true, to project it in such a way that it becomes part of the experience of the person who reads it.” You obviously have things you want to express beyond what you are capable of doing in the poems you are posting. Trust yourself. Be yourself. Write yourself. That sounds like a Boy Scout motto, doesn’t it? Must be my background showing. Seriously though, the act of creation often involves testing our limits. If you feel stagnant, then it’s time to test yours. There are surprises waiting for you once you’ve begun doing that.

  2. Never apologize for the musings of your heart. Writing is a way of cleansing one’s soul. I reveal more of myself to the strangers who read my blog than the people with whom I interact on a daily basis. Sorry for the long comment, but I wanted you to know that we are out here sincerely listening. Hugs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

